the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Memorandum: 2019 Regional Advocacy Awards

Each year at the Annual Conference, NCIL recognizes individuals and / or organizations for outstanding advocacy efforts. NCIL encourages you to nominate someone in your region who you believe is deserving of this award. Please take a few minutes to complete the nomination form by May 10, 2019.

Purpose of the NCIL regional advocacy award: To recognize individuals or groups/organizations within each region for outstanding systems advocacy efforts consistent with independent living goals and philosophy at a national, state, or local level.

Eligibility for the regional advocacy award: The nominee does not have to be a member of NCIL. In the event that the winner is not a member of NCIL, upon receiving the award, he or she will receive a complimentary Individual Membership to NCIL for the remainder of the year.

Selection process: The Regional Representative will solicit written nominations from membership within their region. Regional Representatives are strongly encouraged to solicit input from the members in their region in selecting the award winner. To the greatest degree possible, the selection process should be free of actual or perceived conflicts of interest. One award winner will be selected from each region.

Recognition: Regional Advocacy Awards will be presented to the winners at NCIL’s 2019 Annual Conference on Independent Living, during the Awards Luncheon at Noon on Wednesday, July 24.

Thank you,

NCIL Regional Representatives

Logo: 2019 Annual Conference on Independent Living - featuring a white starburst graphic

Speak Your Mind